MCB orRCD

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Where and why should you use an RCD or MCB.

If i install a new circuit for a kitchen oven, should i use an RCD or MCB. Would it be safe to use either or am i breaking all regs picking the wrong one for the correct protection

Thanks

Sponsored Links
as far as im aware everything should be rcd protected and even rcbo protection mcb s will be a thing of the past i reckon
dont slate me im not an expert in elecs just putting my view across :)

If i install a new circuit for a kitchen oven, should i use an RCD or MCB.

With respect. If you do not know the difference then you should not be installing a new circuit at all. If you were doing this (notifiable) work you would not pass the LABC's inspection.

I would recommend you get a competent registered electrician in. Get a local one at www.competentperson.co.uk

Sponsored Links
as far as im aware everything should be rcd protected and even rcbo protection mcb s will be a thing of the past i reckon
dont slate me im not an expert in elecs just putting my view across :)
For the record, and with respect, this post is ill-informed and should be ignored.

Hi Taylortwocities

I will use a electrican to complete the job but what is the answer as i am curious as to why two types of similar safety devices offer different protection. What advantage does an rcd have over an mcb. The earlier posts seemed to indicate you could use either

Thanks

thanks bs i would appreciate what should be ignored if not all and why surely there is some current regs in there or am i misinformed terribly bearing in mind i did make sure i posted as a layman or amateur as you will perceive me cheers for the reality call

Hi Taylortwocities

I will use a electrican to complete the job but what is the answer as i am curious as to why two types of similar safety devices offer different protection. What advantage does an rcd have over an mcb. The earlier posts seemed to indicate you could use either

Thanks