Meter tails.

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Getting started.

Ok I’ll just say I am a electrician but I’ve been out of the uk for quite a while so not sure on full rules regarding this.

I need to relocate my board too around 5m away from the meter the run would be up the cavity to where the board currently is (Which will be getting patched over) then there is a 200mm chase to the ceiling then into floor space and through maybe 4 joists then board will go ceiling height in final location.

I know the chase needs to be 50mm deep for none armoured none rcd cables, but am I fine just running meter tails through joist, I guess 25mm tails I’d get them in a 32mm hole.

Sponsored Links
I need to relocate my board too around 5m away from the meter
The DNOs state if more than 3m. you must have a switch fuse. Just a rule.
You may, though, have the same rating of fuse as the cut-out fuse.

the run would be up the cavity to where the board currently is
Not really preferred these days but people do.

(Which will be getting patched over) then there is a 200mm chase to the ceiling
Still must be in the 'safe zones'; in this case within 150mm. of a wall corner - or SWA or cover in steel plate.

I know the chase needs to be 50mm deep for none armoured none rcd cables,
Cables must be more than 50mm. deep.

but am I fine just running meter tails through joist,
Yes, again more than 50mm. from surface or protected and in acceptable part of joists.
https://www.diynot.com/wiki/Electrics:route

I guess 25mm tails I’d get them in a 32mm hole.
Or two holes of cable size - plus earthing conductor.

Can you not run SWA?

Thanks for the quick reply. a 25mm swa would be pretty bulky and I have a joist about 40mm from the wall where I need to turn under the floor which would be a nightmare to turn into, also wouldn’t it be bigger than 32mm in diameter?