Moving light switch.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting and would like to advice and help moving a light switch to the other side of a door in the same room.

So far I have taken the light switch off the wall and there are two cables coming into the switch. Each cable has only two wires, a red one and an unsheathed, I assume that the red one is live and that the other is the earth wire.

Can I simply trace the wire back up the wall, which is under the plaster in a metal tube, move it around the door frame under the plaster. At the point it ends I plan on adding a junction box with a blanking plate and extending it down the wall to where I want to locate the new switch. Is this possible to do? If so how to I wire the new switch into the old wiring?

Thanks for all your help,

Martin.

Sponsored Links
You could, but it maybe better rather than extending via blanking plate extend using a MF junction box
This can be left in the ceiling/floor void which normal junction boxes can not as they need to be easily accessible.
You will need to find out which cable is the permanently live, so a multimeter or an approved voltage indicator would be helpful.
The extended cable can the be terminated as follows.
Permanently Live to Com
The second red to L1.
Also the bare copper cables which are CPC/earth should be sleeved in green and yellow PVC sleeving. This should be either connected to back box if plastic fitting or switch plate if metal.
This link may help
//www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:lighting:single_way_lighting:jbnonharm
Also remember that red core colours are now brown, so you may have difficulty in find red core colours.
If you have two versions of the colours old/new there should be a noitce on the fuse box or CU warning of this two colours of BS7671

You can't run the cables round the door frame under the plaster.