My Domestic Wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

We recently bought a house, which we mostly gutted/demolished and rebuilt.

I am NOT an electrician, but i have spent several years working as a labourer alongside domestic electricians and being shown what to do by these electricians.

I also have an electricians manual with wiring diagrams and Part P regs that i consulted for all work.

I have wired up my entire house and it has all been running now with no issues for several months. However i do intend to get it all professionally tested and am looking for a local electrician right now who can do the testing.

However i have done the following:

- Original modern Consumer Unit with Main Switch, RCCB and MCB's - Mostly untouched
- New 32A MCB Ring Main for Ground Floor Sockets - 2.5mm twin+e cable - just under 100m of cable total.
- New 32A MCB Ring Main First Floor Sockets + Kitchen Sockets - 2.5mm twin+e cable - 30m of cable total.
( I put First Floor on same circuit due to lack of space in CU and because we ONLY have one massive room and 4 sockets upstairs).
- New 6A MCB Circuit for Ground Floor Lights - 1.5mm twin+e cable - 70m of cable total
- New 6A MCB Circuit for First Floor Lights - 1.5mm twin+e cable - 30m of cable total
- 40A MCB circuit for 8.5kw Shower - 10mm twin+e cable - 30m + shower isolation switch
- 32A MCB circuit for Oven - 10mm twin+e cable - 15m + oven isolation switch
- 32A MCB circuit for outdoor socket (RCD) and shed socket (RCD) - 2.5mm twin+e cable 30m
- One section left spare to be used for Boiler + CH.

For ring main sockets, all sockets connected together one after the other with only two spurs (single socket) on the whole system. Two wires coming out of MCB as there should be for a ring main.

All ceiling roses for lights, all switches and all sockets have been wired correctly. Earth sleeving has been put on all earth cables that come bare out of the standard Grey flat twin+e cable.