Need help/advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
So i decided to get the garden ready for summer and all i have done is got problem after problem lol btw i am a rookie when it comes to this sort of stuff, But any way i dug up loads of rocks which was like my paths edging leveled it all out as much as possible but i had to take it in like 4 - 5 inches so now i have a big gap between my Path and grass. I was going to to buy proper stone edging and put them down so it tidy it up a little and pack the rest down with soil but when we measured the garden and how much everything would cost it would work out a little bit pricy. I am not cheap but the house we live in is rented an i have already put a lot of time in this house / garden.

Any way my girlfriends dad had loads of 50cm - 50cm decking squares 25 of them so i asked if i could take them to make them in to plant pots but then i had another idea after measuring them all it worked out i could make a little fence going down my garden. I have a little boy who is 15 months old and running around every where so i thought this would work out the cheapest option as i got all the wood for free and i could make it safe so he cant run to the edge and fall off and bang his head.

I went to B&Q and bought 3x2 treated posts so i can cut them down and use to screw the decking tiles in but now where i have dug the soil is really soft can i get away with just putting the posts in the soil and trying to pack it in to get it steady or do i need buy some sort of concrete to hold it together? and would the wood rot and if so how long? i will be paining the wood with waterproof paint but i know that wont stop the rot ect:. I also have no idea where to start or how to do this lol i just want it as safe as possible for as less as possible any help on this would be truly appreciated.

Sponsored Links