New boiler and flue, and some basic pipework - quote?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi folks, a newbie here.

Just bought a house, and the existing boiler in the garage is defunct.

I will have to get a new boiler and mount it in the bathroom, requiring a new flue to be installed and the boiler connected to the existing CH and DHW system (which is currently a vented system and will need to be converted to a sealed system). The gas supply to the boiler will also have to be rerouted.

The new boiler will be about 12 feet away from the old one's location, with the old pipe-run being only a few feet away. I'm prepared to strip out the old cylinder myself.

The new boiler will have to be 28kw, and the whole system will need flushing.

I've been quoted £3800 and £3600 and advised that the work will take 3-4 days. Its probably difficult to assess these quotes simply from the above info, but they seem very high to me.

Can anyone offer me some sort of perspective?

(Incidentally, I'm a professional cabinet-maker and will be happy to contribute my expertise to any who need it).

Sponsored Links
i work for bg and that sound expensive to me. bare in mind i dont do install but 3-4 days sounds 3-4 times too long for a straight swap.

as to keep all the scrap copper too.. :LOL:

Thanks Gavinda. Nearly 1K a day sounds expensive to me too!

P'raps I should try BG!

Already got me eye on the copper :LOL: !

Price seems very high, would expect to be on the job minimum of 2 days tho. A good power flush takes a day, upgrading of gas pipe, trvs on rads and all the other small bits. Careful of anyone claiming to do it in a day!

Sponsored Links
If you have two independent assessments and they both say 3-4 days and both are within 10% in cost, why do doubt them? Do you imagine collusion between them, did they have similar facial features and webbed feet?

If you get BG in, expect limited product choice, a teenage salesman, and another £1000 on the job.