New Boiler Making Loud Clicking Sound - Is The Flue Right?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I'm a newbie on this site. I had a look around for previous posts and this was the closest one I could find, but no definitive answer:

//www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=1479516

Had a new Vaillant Ecotec boiler fitted the other week, and now it keeps making a loud clicking noise about every other minute when the boiler is doing the central heating. Not just when it's fired up, but even after for a while, and only stops when it's not being fired up for a while.

I'm pretty sure that this is not heat expansion noise coming from the boiler, my gut instinct is that this is some kind of mechanical clicking noise and I'm a bit concerned that the flue that they set up is not quite right as it is very different from the flue that was fitted previously on the old boiler (I have attached a picture of the new flue arrangement) and this would tie in with the suggested problems indicated in the thread I linked to above. Basically, the old flue outlet was just a short out pipe, not the black out, up, and out on an angle in the attached image.

I rent the property if that's relevant, and I presume that any work and the new boiler is covered by some sort of guarantee. More important than that, I'm paranoid I'll get carbon monoxide poisoned if the flue's not right.

Any advice greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Bomber.

Sponsored Links
That looks like a plume diverter kit. Installed a bit strangely though.
Is there a parallel wall opposite yours with the flue within a couple of metres?

Not sure about the clicking, does sound like it could be expansion/contraction noises.
When the boiler comes on, does the clicking start off fast, then slow down? Does it stop after the boiler has been on a while?