New build - CCTV system.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We are in the process of building a new farm house. I will almost certainly install a CCTV system. Have had a quote for doing it now but not 100% sure of what I want the system to do and so, because we are just about to install ceilings, plaster walls etc. I want to install cables to where I will place cameras.

My builder has suggested we get the electrician to install cables and has mentioned CAT5 but I see that RG59 is mentioned. You have probably guessed by now that I am completely new to CCTV.

Could anyone give advice please on what cable I should be installing or is that dependent on what I want the system to do ? I am reasonably PC literate and I have a reasonable budget.

Thanks in advance for any advice given.

Sponsored Links
fit one of each RG59 /CAT 5/ 8 CORE ALARM CABLE. to each point that way its future proof as cameras will go to ip type cameras ( megapixal) but quite expensive at moment. also fit cat 5 cables to tv pointswhere you may need to view) as you can send the dvr output to each tv via video amp.

I assume you have a few hundred to spare if you fit all cables mentioned to all areas.

Future proof and capable of IP and possible PTZ run a Cat5 to each location.
You do not need to fit Cat5 to all tv outputs a diplexer adjacent to the video distribution point will do this through your existing/planned.

I suggest you take security experts advise not a sparks who dabbles.

Thanks guys for your input so far. I am quite happy to send the quote from the professional to anyone who is interested but it is a 3 camera system and it's circa £2.5k I thought that was a bit much for what it was. It was for a DVR and 3 dome cameras and not much else. They might have been IR, would have to look again.

Sponsored Links