New DIY telephone extension will not work!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can anyone help with this telephone extension puzzle.

We have two extensions, one works fine, I replaced the wire and socket for the other but cannot get it to work. I am completely baffled by my failure.

This started when we had the Openreach engineer visit to replace the faulty outside line. He retained the master socket back plate but fitted the latest model NTE5 front plate. This has only three IDC connectors 2,3,5, on the consumer face plate. He fitted one extension into this and it worked, it still works. The engineer could not get the other extension to work, declared it faulty and left it disconnected.

I have no diy experience with phones but I am a good diyer so thought it would be easy to replace the ‘faulty’ extension cable and socket. I got a kit from Screwfix, the type with an extension socket for diy wiring and a cable with a master socket plug fitted. I have been trying to make the extension not using the plug but by wiring the cable directly into the master socket faceplate for a neat ‘professional’ finish.

I fitted the extension socket and wired the cable. I then tested my handiwork by using the cable plug in the master socket and it worked. I then laid the cable to the master socket (5 metres only) and wired it into the IDC connectors using the punchdown tool over the wires already fitted for the other extension. The extension does not work!

I guess I could have damaged the cable when laying it but I was very careful with the clips, have no tight bends in the run, did not pull on it. I find it hard to believe this is the problem.

I pulled out the wires from the IDC connectors and re-fitted them but this had no effect. I have not pulled out the other extension and tried using ‘empty’ connectors because I am fearful of losing our one working extension.

I also tried using just the blue/white and white/blue wires in IDC 2 and 5 only but this does not work.