New House rendering+Plastering

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I have just bought a house (built in 1930's) and most of the walls were blown so I have got all the plaster off the affected walls and planned to board and plaster them.

So far there is the entire bathroom which I was going to pb, plaster then fully tile (which has 2x outside walls using aquapanel where the shower wll be), the hallway, 1 wall in the living room and a couple of bedroom walls (one being an external wall which is now internal due to a double extension).

After reading a lot of posts on here last night, I've discovered that most recommend the old wall be rendered first to stop damp and ephervescense whatever its called lol.

tbh I'd never heard of this before and only thought rendering was for outside. I've no experience with this kind of stuff so am a 'noob'.

What I'm asking really is, does this apply to me and if so, is it all the walls I would do or just the outside ones?
Also how thick would I do this as I wish to plasterboard and plaster on top of that so dont want to come out too far.

I presume the mix is 3-1 sand-cement with some pva/plasticiser added?

I know I'm new to this but want to use this house to get some new skills, well moneys real tight too as I stretched to get the house (will be nice when it's done tho).

Thanks for reading.

Sponsored Links
ok have you compleatly stripped all of your exterior walls? if you have it might be worth upgradeing the insulation BC usually require you to do so if it hassent been done already.

you can sand and cement the walls with a 4.1 mix with waterproofer. then dot and dab ontop as your a novice i think this will be easier than you trying to float the wall out yourself with 2 coats.

as to how thick to put it on i depends on how true your walls run but you want to be looking at about 10mm.