1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

New light wiring help please

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by TheCovidYears, 18 Jan 2021.

  1. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,145
    Thanks Received:
    3,142
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,566
    Thanks Received:
    2,550
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The FCU was fitted just in case in my dotage I absent mindedly plugged a heater into the TV socket and then had a lot of heat under the bed.

    In theory the 3 Amp fuse in the FCU would eventually blow without the other sockets on that radial become de-powered. Might have a cooked FCU but ( hopefully ) not a cooked bed.
     
  4. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,060
    Thanks Received:
    4,159
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok, but I don't think that will change Winston's mind. :)
     
  5. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,145
    Thanks Received:
    3,142
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmm - do you mean a heater 'under the bed'?

    If so, I would think that there are an awful lot of things you might conceivably do in your "absent-minded dotage" that you would have to try to find ways to 'guard against' :)

    Indeed, if such were what you were wanting to achieve, even with the 3A FCU you probably could/should have gone one step further, and used it to feed 2A or 5A sockets (for your TV and video), rather than "13A" BS1363 ones!

    Kind Regards, John
     
  6. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,986
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why, what is wrong with that, except that the FCU is unnecessary, as the plugs for the TV and video have fuses and the TV and video will also have internal fuses.
     
  7. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,145
    Thanks Received:
    3,142
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    True - it's no more 'wrong' than is having a 3A FCU fed from a 6A circuit to supply an extractor fan.
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page