1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

New light wiring help please

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by TheCovidYears, 18 Jan 2021.

  1. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,120
    Thanks Received:
    3,137
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm a bit confused ....
    Kind Regards, John
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,892
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Moi, aussi!
     
  4. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,972
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Absolutely not required. A 3amp fuse will no discrimination against a 6amp MCB in your CU. FCUs are not intended to be used on lighting circuits.
     
  5. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,892
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A bit like 1363 sockets?
     
  6. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,972
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is an awful lot of sockets on one circuit.
     
  7. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,892
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Very droll.

    Are you saying there is a limit to the number of outlets on one circuit?

    That aside,

    If you are going to state things like this people like me are going to follow you round with messages like this:

    The wiring regulations state that, amongst other accessories, BS1363 socket outlets (standard three pin sockets) and connection units to BS1363-4 (what you describe as "FCUs") can be connected to a lighting circuit.

    So please stop telling people these accessories are not intended to be used on lighting circuits when the wiring regulations specifically list them, amongst others, as accessories that can.
     
  8. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,972
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whatever the regs say, it is clearly bad practice to put accessories on a lighting circuit capable of 13 amps when the circuit is protected by a 6 or 10 amp breaker.
     
  9. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,892
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The people compiling the regs (along with many of its qualified users) think not.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,972
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  12. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,892
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Now you're suggesting there is an error so big, it comprises a whole regulation?

    I'd like to ask you three questions.

    Are you a qualified electrician?

    Have you alerted the IET to what you believe is an error in their text?
    If so, what was their response?

    If not, why don't you do that, rather than complaining about it here?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,557
    Thanks Received:
    2,549
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it is clearly bad practice in the mind of Winston! to put accessories on a lighting circuit.

    So far Winston1 has never given any reason why it is bad practise.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. TheCovidYears

    TheCovidYears

    Joined:
    18 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow, this escalated quickly :D. To be fair, all my upstairs sockets are routed through the loft (yay) so adding a double socket up there is not beyond the realms of possibility, but I suspect a 3amp booster is not going to upset my lighting circuit and it will have the isolation of the FCU too, all labelled up so anybody else who chances upon them realises.
     
  15. Sureitsoff?

    Sureitsoff?

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    772
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just use a suitably labelled socket for the aerial amp. easier to just unplug if it fails or for maintenance rather than rewiring the connection to the fcu
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,972
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I keep saying YOU DON'T NEED THE FCU. An ordinary light switch can isolate it if you like.
     
  17. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,972
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is no problem with accessories on a lighting circuit if properly done. A 13 amp socket is not properly done.

    I have explained why it is bad practice many times. Namely the temptation to plug in a large load and take out the lighting circuit. In a loft plunged into darkness this could result in a foot or even whole body through the ceiling.
     
Loading...

Share This Page