new lighting circuit with a twist

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all I’m new to the electrical game I’ve just passed my part p and 16th edition but came across a situation while wiring up a loft conversion that I’m doing. Due to only three spare spaces being left on the buss bar and I have to fit 1 40amp r.c.d for the shower 1 32amp m.c.b for the ring main 1 6amp m.c.b for the lighting circuit I have no room for all 3 so is it allowed for me to run the lighting circuit off the upstairs 6amp m.c.b or connect into the upstairs lighting circuit at any point in the circuit cheers for any advice jez
P.S any idea if the NICEIC give advice when I join

Sponsored Links
I assume you want your lights for the loft off the upstairs circuit. That should be alright providing you don't overload the circuit. Usually don't exceed 1200w. Of course, if it's wired in 1.5mm² cable, there's the possibility you increase the MCB to 10A.

correct me if i'm wrong here... but you have 3 spare ways, and have to fit 3 new breakers... where's the problem?

you bought the double wide rcbo didn't you.?

you can get single width ones..

I'm assuming the board isn't split load then..

do they already have one shower fitted..

is the supply man enough to take 2 showers running at the same time?

run the light from a 5 amp fused spur set into the ringmain... simple..