New Meter Problems???

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry to be vague but Im no electrician.

About a fortnight ago we asked our electricity supplier to remove our pre-pay token meter because we want to pay our electricty bills quarterly.

They took the old token meter off the wall and fitted a very small white box which has a small digital display on the front and 4 wires coming out of the bottom of it (2 black and 2 red).

Everything was fine and dandy for a day or two but then the trip switch went off. So I reset the trip switch but the power kept tripping off every half an hour or so. Anyway, I paid for an electrician to come out because I thouth perhaps there might have been a problem with a plug socket in the kitchen but when he arrived the first thing he pointed out was that the new meter was not earthed correctly. He called the supplier on my behalf to inform them of the error of their ways but basically they fobbed him off.
So to save time and aggravation he fitted an new earth cable for us and everything seemed to be fine for about a week.

Now we're having problems again. The power won't seem stay on for more than 20 minutes at a time and we've now had to move into the parents house until we can get it sorted.
The electrician is back at the house at the moment ripping up the the upstairs floorboards to check all the wiring through the house and I'm pulling my hair out in despair.
He reckons that there is an intermittent fault and it could be that a nail might have gone through a wire but we paid for the house to be completely re-wired 2 years ago and personally I think this is unlikely.

Basically the problem seem to have started when we had the new electric meter fitted a fortnight ago and I have a niggling feeling that the electricity company had bodged up somewhere. However, when I call them to question it they fobb me off and have even threatened to remove the meter and trip switches to make the house safe.