1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

New Power socket

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by deemo, 10 Jan 2014.

  1. deemo

    deemo

    Joined:
    29 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Guys

    In my hall i want a power socket but there is no other power sockets on that side of the hall.

    There is one on other wall.

    But there is a light switch for Cloak room toilet which is pretty much above where i want socket

    Now this maybe the silliest question ever, i'm a computer tech not a sparky. I take it i can't spur off the light socket to have a socket ?
     
  2. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,086
    Thanks Received:
    3,365
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    That is correct; you cannot.

    Are there any sockets on the other side of the wall (behind) the desired position?
     
  3. rjm2k

    rjm2k

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    2,119
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope. Is is a suspended wooden floor or solid? If you can lift floorboards then someone with the necessary knowledge should find it fairly easy to connect up to the other socket one way or another.
     
  4. Hager

    Hager

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No you can't, its probably only has a Permanent live and switch line, no neutral and is only on a 6A circuit.

    Is the one on the other wall the other side of where you want this current one? If so you could drill though and spur off that socket. Providing its not a spur at the moment.
     
  5. deemo

    deemo

    Joined:
    29 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No solid floor all wiring through walls and i suppose 1st floor roof space

    No other sockets on that side

    Closet other power source would be actual consumer box itself which is about 2 m away actually in the cloak room

    But get wire would mean probably doing something in partition wall and want to keep to minimum as it's new build and nice and clean at moment
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have two option buried cable or surface mounted (this can be clipped direct or within containment such as trunking), if you are looking for aesthetically pleasing as possible then buried cable would be the recommendation.
    But be aware of the fact that a new circuit from the CU, would require notification to building controls if you are in England/Wales, this would require a certificate to be completed and schedules of inspection and test results to be documented. There is a charge for notifying work.
    Best solution would be to employ a self cert electrician, it would end up cheaper.
    You will require 30mA RCD protection for this installation.
    Also routing of cables should be in permitted safe zones, if they are not buried greater than 50mm in walls or without mechanical protection.
    Wall chases and holing of joist must comply to Part A of building regs, this would normally rule out the cable being buried greater than 50mm within walls.
     
  8. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,065
    Thanks Received:
    289
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A new circuit would but AIUI a spur off an existing circuit would not. Even if that spur was taken at the CU.
     
  9. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed a spur wouldn't require notification, but would still require either an electrical installation cert or a minor works cert, in compliance to BS7671
     
  10. rjm2k

    rjm2k

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    2,119
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What do you want to plug into it?
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page