New upvc doors where to buy

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I want to install 3 new doors 2 pvc and 1 composite. I am getting a cost of 1800 which is the cheapest.

Composite is 800
PVC are 500 each

But this guy will not include fitting which is costing me additional 500.
I have taken the same quote from 4 different places and all are about the same but I had a few questions

1) Is it ok to go with a door company just for doors and get someone else to fit it out. I have heard of some horror stories of when something goes wrong one blames the other and vice versa.

2) Is it very difficult to do it on your own, I am not an expert but I do keep doing DIY so i would just say I am ok on DIY stuff.

3) If I see companies online a lot of them are selling doors for about 600 for composite and 300+ for pvc's, why is there such a massive price difference, is there real compromise of quality.

4) lastly has anyone heard of eurocell and how there doors are, I am meeting someone from eurocell over the weekend for a quote.

Sponsored Links
1. Supply and fit is best for the guarantees. As you say things can get complicated if you mix and match.

2. Not overly difficult to fit them. The trickiest parts are the measuring and cutting out the old doors without doing lots of damage to plaster and render etc.

3. Those are approx cost prices for getting them straight from a factory. There are hundreds of factory's about, Some are good and some not so good. Without a trade account and good knowledge of the products it would be hard to know which you are dealing with.

4. Liniar and Eurocell are my Personal favorites (for PVC) To be honest most of the major brands are pretty much identical nowadays anyway. I just prefer the look and feel of the moldings on these 2 makes.

Basically price is mainly going to come down to where you live and how large the company is (bigger company's have more overheads) Try to go with someone local.

Thank you so much for all the replies