newbie here ... quick primatic question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, i have two tanks in my loft. the cold water tank and a small expansion tank. the small tank collects hot water when i have my central heating on and my pump on for the back boiler in my open fire. I doesnt collect much, just to when the variable recirc pump for the fire sorts its self out.

I was looking to treat my central heating sytem to keep it healthy. However the small expansion tanks just overflows to drain, ( if needed and not that it has so far) and does not feed the water anywhere, i.e to the boiler.

Therefore im guessing i have a primatic system and therefore cannot add chemicals to the system.

Im I right?

thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
If it was a primatic system you would only have one large tank in your loft and wouldnt be able to add chemicals as that would also feed your hot water cylinder.

No is the short answer. As you have a small expansion tank in the loft your cylinder will be indirect and therefore ok to chemically treat your system.
Getting hot water into the exp tank indicates a system fault.Most likely to be a blockage.

doesnt sound as if its primatic, its prob indirect, and the hw in your tank is a problem (CH water expanding 2 much) may bee as simple as the hook on the expansion going into the tank not bing high enough. is there a 22mm pipe coming off the bottom of your tank going to the AC.? and its not going to a drain because when the heating cools down the added water in the tank goes back into the system

Sponsored Links
Hi, i have two tanks in my loft. the cold water tank and a small expansion tank. the small tank collects hot water when i have my central heating on
No, it does not.
The small tank feeds you ch system, and the pumping over indicates the common back boiler problem: badly corroded and blocked.

thanks for all the replies