Newbie here - Strange Pipe above Brick Partition Wall!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

New to the forum, but I have joined as I have no idea what is going on here.
I'm looking to open up a hope between my kitchen and living room, we live in a 1940's council block, the kind with the sash windows and walkway.

Obviously want to get permission from the council, and today I started opening up the wall a bit to see what it was made of.
It's only 150mm thick, but runs down the center of the plan parallel to the brick facade walls.
Looks like Cement Render to either side of a single brick leaf, (so thought it might not be structural) but when I went to look at the junction between wall and slab above us I found pipe, just above the brickwork!

Any ideas what this could be, or why there would be a pipe along here?
Also does this mean the wall is more than likely not structural? If so it would be easier to just get an engineer to say as much and knock the hole, than pay for a report and lintel etc...

Any advice would be appreciated!

Attachments

• Overview - 2 Holes.JPG
    Overview - 2 Holes.JPG
    136.4 KB · Views: 475
  • Above Kitchen Hatch 2.JPG
    Above Kitchen Hatch 2.JPG
    157.4 KB · Views: 530
Sponsored Links
I can't picture what wall it is you are opening up.
But looking at the picture, the "pipe" is black isn't it - and looks like it's going into a fitting ?