no lights -believe RCD problem but complete newbie & no

K

kerij

A few months ago, we had some lights, extractor fan & shaving point installed in our bathroom. Along with these and RCD spur was fitted.

Last night all of our upstairs lights went off - along with the shaving point. (extractor runs off lights). All of our lights used to be on the same fuse on our fuse board, but the downstairs lights, all sockets, shower etc are all still working.

I have swapped / changed the fuses in the fuse board to confirm they don't affect the upstairs lights etc. So presume it all comes down to the RCD powerbreaker unit. There is no red light in the top "button", when I press the "test" button, there is a small buzz/vibrating noise, and again, there is no change to the top "button." All online instructions that I have found refer to an "on" button, but I'm not sure if they mean the clear top "button"? I have also replaced the 5amp fuse in the RCD unit so can be sure that this isn't the problem.

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong / need to do? I shall contact the electrician who fitted it but don't expect to hear back until Monday due to the weekend.

Thanks in advance :D

Sponsored Links
the top white button is the ON button
bottom green button is the OFF and TEST button

The red light on the top button is lit when ON usually after you press the top button to turn it ON

Pressing the bottom button tests it and also turns it off, therefore turning the light off.

If the red light is not on then its either, OFF, faulty ,
fuse gone or no supply.

Hope that makes sense

Thank you for taking the time to reply. I can't seem to get the red light to come on at all & have changed the fuse in the RCD, so can only presume that I'm possibly not going to be able to resolve it myself.

Thank you again. :)

does the unit light for a moment as if trying
If theres a fault on the load then it wont reset.