ODD ELECTRIC RESULTS ON REWIRE

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Please help. Having just completed a full rewire on a 1970s bungalow, it has weird results on the final tests. I am not very technical, but our electrician mate (long time served) who's done the rewire - and his sparky pals - are all at a frustrated loss.
Basically, although individual stretches of wiring are testing fine, once they are linked together the results are failing. Even though EVERYTHING (including gas and water mains) are disconnected - it is still showing live electricity on the circuits. Why? Where can it be coming from?
Also, they tested a bit of the house wall and it was showing a reading of three volts. Surely this should be completely neutral if everything's disconnected.
The earth around the house has tested fine, and the socket components are testing fine. The only thing that hasn't been rewired is the existing burglar alarm. This is disconnected at mains and has reverted to its internal battery back-up.
What's causing this "leakage" of electricity into circuits (it's happening across several) where nothing is connected? Thankyou.

Sponsored Links
it might be the suppliers earth since the house is reading some voltage to earth ( presumably that's where you're taking your reference to? )

What sort of meter are you using, what setting is it on, and what are you connecting each probe of the meter to when a voltage is showing?

you haven't got a lot of cables bunched together perhaps neat the main supply tails or cable have you?

Sponsored Links
I am really sorry, I do not know all the technical stuff (just a useless girl!!). They were testing two wires at a time at 1000 volts for resistance on a Fluke meter at one point.