Oilman HELP Please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am looking at a Thorn oil boiler ody3, with a Selectos burner D42
and a Suntec pump no numbers on it. Nozzle size is 85 x 80 presume solid

Whats happening is the burner fires, a few seconds later the flame starts pulsing and smoking (Big time smoking) any guesses would be helpful
pump pressure test not done yet.

The filter has been cleaned but it did have a lot of muck in it and a little water. i am wondering if this has got through and damaged the pump.

I have no knowledge of this old beast so if you can point me in the right direction for diagnosis and spares I would be grateful.

thanks Brian

Sponsored Links
Hi taydo!
Ah someone else with a Thorn ody 3. I would say your problem is related to dirty nozzle and/or insuffient air. I have to go now but will be back later with all the information on parts you need.
In the meantime lets see if it ties up with oilman.
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

If it has had water in oil have you compleatly purged it of any water otherwise droplets of water will cause flame to extinguish followed by oil which may not ignite properly, hit hot surfaces and produce smoke.

Alan

Sponsored Links
Thanks all

Yes checked the flue superfically but I will chuck a pellet in the hole so to speak. I dont think this is the problem though.

Hi Mandate you seem to know this monster is the air flow adjusment a slide on the side of the chamber if not what was I playing with cos the thing only fire with this in one place.

I cant leave it running to much smoke leaking out of the sight glass Mmm I think I had better seal that up before I go any further.

Brian

Hi Brian!
Can't disagree with Alans comments. However there are 3 versions of this boiler 60, 75 and 90 representing the output in 1000btus/hr.
Also fuel can kerosene or gas oil so there are a few variants depending on what you have got.