Old Car Battery Charger - How to use it?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
The battery seems to have died on my old W reg Corsa as I didn't keep running the engine through all the snow.

I have a Selmar Turbo 6 12v Battery Charger, but no instructions and I'm not sure how to use it. Anyone any ideas?

Do I plug it in to charge for a certain length of time and then take it out to the car, or do I need to take the battery out of the car and connect it all together to charge indoors?

Any help appreciated, I have very little car knowledge, sadly!

Sponsored Links
check the rating plate on the charger (its not long and orange is it with an ammeter on one side?)

if you have a coded radio, make sure you know the code.

remove the battery from the car, connect it up indoors.

if its the same as my selmar, its a 4A max charge, so I leave mine on overnight for a completly flat battery, or when the ammeter goes down to 0, or near to 0 (its telling you the charge current, NOT the power in the battery)

if its completly dud, you may find you need a new battery, out of interest how old is it? if its the original, its done well anyway.

if you can protect it completely from rain and wet, and the flex is not a hazard, you can recharge it on the car. I prefer to put all connections and chager under the bonnet and prop it nearly closed to keep the rain out.

check the + (red) and - (black) indicators on the battery at least twice, and stick extra labels on them if they are not eye catching. If you connect the charger the wrong way round it will be damaged (or depending on model will have a replaceable internal fuse). Guess how I know that.

Electrical items used outdoors should be protected with an RCD inside the house (you can buy an RCD adaptor, as used for lawnmowers, at electrical or gardening places)