On the scrap heap at 49.

J

johnfox

hi all,just asking what would you do if you were in my shoes.
i have been made redundant from a MOD (civillian) job.
i was a training officer based mainly outside the uk,i have been pensioned off,although my pay off deal is excellent.
i do not have to work at all now as my lump sum payment is better than my usual monthly pay packet.
the job i was doing the retirement age is 30 years of service.so the offer they made to me was good.
i can draw my pension next year,final salary so its ok.
i owe no money at all,opps a lie forgot to pay london congeston charge last month.
i cannot go into any profession similar to last one,some severe conditions i had to agree to.
so what would you do if you were in my situation.

Sponsored Links
brezzer,thanks for reply.
i have a decent pension plus money banked,the pension will take a 40% tax deduction monthly from me,ok but i have been lucky.
at the monent i am wanting to hear from people if i am doing the correct thing as i do not have to work,i have enough money till i move on to another world.

Sponsored Links
hey, I'm out of work... fancy starting a house renovation company, I'll be your sparky.. I'm sure there are other trades out of work that frequent this forum too...

come on guys, sign up.. we found a sponsor.. :)

my suggestion is you get a good accountant as a lump sum should not occur a 40% reduction as it should be used in the pension or capital towards a franchise or simmilar so attracting no or greatly reduced tax

Its usually possible to take about 25% of a pension fund value tax free subject to many complicated rules and age limits of being over 50..

Then there is redundancy lump sum with a tax free amount depending on age I think.

Its a very complicated subject. A friend of mine at the BBC got £7.5k back when the BBC pension scheme made a cockup with his payment/taxation.