Opinion of my mains installation wanted

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

Have been lurking on this site for a while now and have enjoyed reading many of the topics, mainly in the Electrics UK. I have always had a keen interest in electric and wanted to be an electrician, things as always don’t work out how you plan and I’m now an IT/Network/Comms technician, closest I come to electric at work is where I plug an appliance into the wall - lol!

As I grew up over the years I basically self taught myself about electrics, although obviously not to a professional level and have for many years maintained the installation at my home and have done odd jobs for friends and family. Obviously with part p now in place I don’t do anything major now except change the odd light or socket.

I have done two total house re-wires, one about 5 years ago and the other about 4 years ago, both were tested and certified by an electrician afterwards with no issues raised.

My own home is no exception and I have also rewired it though not completely, small story here so please bear with me. Original mains wiring in braided T&E fed from brown wylex fuse box with one newer lighting circuit to kitchen extension. House lighting circuit in steel conduit wired with red/black waxy covered cable fed from push/pull 15amp isolator, round toggle switches and twisted flex pendants throughout. Whole house protected by ELCB.