Outside socket - waterproofing joins

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Scenario :

(i)spur from inside the house, straight back through the cavity to outside
(ii)into outside conduit, which then carries the cable further along the wall to an outside socket

So, where the cable comes out of the wall into the conduit connection fitting, there is room for the elements to get down between the crack an onto the cable.

How do you avoid this scenario? Do you put a sealant around the fitting/wall or do you use a coupler/adaptor which sits snugly between the wall and the fitting.

I've probably not made this very clear as to which bit I mean!

Sponsored Links
Can you post a photo?
What sort of conduit?
Is the circuit RCD protected?
Installing an outside socket it notifiable to your LABC under part p of the building regs.

Sorry, it's hypothetical. I'm currently in my 1st year C&G2330, have 17th ed and know all about notification. We were doing some conduit work the other day and got to mulling it over, like you do!

Let's say the conduit connection fitting is screwed to the wall with a hole in the back for the wire to come through. There will be a gap between the fitting and the wall, only small but enough for damp to get in and onto the cable. How do you prevent this?

Hang on, Ive drawn a picture

conduit.jpg

The red is where the damp would come in, and where you may put sealant, or not. And the blue is what a meant by putting an adaptor/female coupler in.

Hello,

Could you not 'bush + coupler' a stub of conduit between the two boxes ?
You could 'make good' the outer hole if needed, before fitting the conduit box if you did this ?
Regards
Ed

Sponsored Links
I will be watching for other replies, as I don't do this sort of thing any more

old practice would be

Drill a tiny weep hole at the bottom of the box

Put a stub of conduit out of the back of the box into the house wall