Oven change - straight swap or change

Joined
20 Aug 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
AE0F5D32-2732-4AED-857A-893DFA97C776.jpeg 2EF4A9BC-8CF7-4813-97FD-E61AD05FCAAE.jpeg 59ADC8AA-6F19-4F3A-9AE7-A054A649E592.jpeg
Hello All,

Your advice appreciated please.

Need to change the oven. It is currently hard wired into a dedicated fused wall socket.

Considering the specs of both ovens above (pic L existing, pic M new oven, pic R trip Switch), as well as the rating on the trip switch, Is this just a straight swap? If not, what needs to be done - a diy job or one for an electrician?

Thanking you in advance.
Ed
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
20 Aug 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
AE77D4A2-1DE2-40EF-9A5D-013A72F293D8.jpeg
Current oven connected to this with 13A fuse.
New one states 16A or is that trip switch? See instructions in post #1.
 
Joined
20 Aug 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
@EFLImpudence, just checking on the Amps rating of 20A in this plate. The trip switch in the board is rated as 16A I understand from the pic above.
Is that setup correct?
Ed
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
20 Aug 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks @EFLImpudence . You been a great help.

Collected to oven today only to see that it is fitted with a 13A plug. Owner, from new, informed that it was fitted as part of new kitchen. Now more head scratching.

Easiest options seem to be:

a) to remove plug and hard wire it into the current 13A flex plate as with current oven or,
b) replace flex plate with 13a 1-gang-dp switched/unswitched plug socket
 
Joined
28 Jul 2006
Messages
20,895
Reaction score
2,190
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
a) to remove plug and hard wire it into the current 13A flex plate as with current oven or,
b) replace flex plate with 13a 1-gang-dp switched/unswitched plug socket

NEITHER!

The spec says PLUG - NO PLUG

So that means no plug. 16A is more than 13A too, so you must hardwire the oven to the flex outlet plate that EFLI specified. NO FUSE!
 
Joined
20 Aug 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, must be hard wired into 20A flex plate. The other end of the cable is fitted with a clip on/off fitting to make removal easier.
 
Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Top