Overthrown Crank ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
as title - re a Saab engine - WTF ? can't find any info on t'net. It appears in an ad for a used Saab on eBay. Thanks;)

Sponsored Links
Maybe a polite way of saying it has a hole in the side of the engine where the crank/con rod came through?
But just contact the seller, before you bid .........

The crankshaft throw is the distance between its centre line of the main bearings to the centre line of the big end journals so yes, its the stroke of the crank at the end of the day.
John :)

Sponsored Links
Beats me, and I've been working on cars for 35 years :LOL:

Unless he means the crank has been modified / machined / changed to increase its throw, thus "overthrown". A bit like increasing the bore size would be called "overbored" :?:

You'd normally say it's been stroked, maybe best off sending him a message.

If it's been stroked it will have custom con-rods/ pistons or both.

As I've always understood it, the crank pin is reground off centre so that the piston will sit slightly higher in the cylinder if using standard con rods. Often the top of the piston will need machining if the compression is too high or if there is a chance of it hitting the valves. This will give the piston slightly more travel down the cylinder and increase the cubic capacity. Often done in conjunction with boring the cylinder out to its maximum permisssble wall thickness. Really only done in competition engines when you are trying to wring every last drop of power out of them.

As I've always understood it, the crank pin is reground off centre so that the piston will sit slightly higher in the cylinder if using standard con rods.

Yes, that's the process I was thinking of, but I've never heard it called "overthrown" before. As Keithmac says, normally you'd say stroked.

Thanks guys ! Reground off centre makes sense. Had me well puzzled;) No intent of buying it, just looked as I reminisced about an old 900 I had once,