Parquet Flooring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I'm a newbie here and I've done a fair amount of reading on the forum and elsewhere, but I just wanted to check my understanding before taking the plunge!

I've recently moved house and the 4 principal rooms downstairs have parquet/woodblock flooring arranged in a herringbone layout. Room sizes are fairly large (biggest is 23'x15' and smallest 12'x12'). The flooring dates back to around 1925.

The previous owner took a sander to it back in 2000 and judging by a number of gouge marks (though they are not too bad) I reckon he used an old fashioned belt sander. There are also a few 'sanding marks' that are visible on close-up inspection of the blocks. Also, the floor looks a bit tired and washed out in places.

The floor I think could look really good and being a bit of a perfectionist I'd like to do it 100% perfectly.

From what I've read, I think I need to:
1. Glue down the handful of loose blocks
2. Sand the floor, preferably with a Trio sander, using varying grades of sandpaper. I'll also need one of the smaller ones to get right up to the skirting.
3. Fill any gaps with a mixture of filler and sanding debris and then final sand
4. Apply Hardwax oil

Would very much appreciate comments thoughts on the above.

Also, if there are any professionals who cover East Surrey on the forum then please let me know if you could give an approximate cost for the work and I'll call you to have a chat.

Thanks in advance

Gary

Sponsored Links
sounds like you've done your reading!

start with 7" edger for the perimeter of room medium grit finish with fine.
next use a square buff orbital sander, (not a belt sander , with a belt sander you must go with grain and parquet is in both directions).