Part P - for an Engineer, how hard, expensive & long?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I'm looking at buying a house that will need re-wiring. Despite the fact I'm a Chartered Engineer with a degree in Electrical Engineering I read that I'm supposed to have part p certification to reqwire it myself.

How much does it cost to take the exam?

I deal with 415V wiring day to day in my career so probably wouldn't need to be taught the material, are there reference books available?

Thanks for any advice.

Sponsored Links
Hello

I'm looking at buying a house that will need re-wiring. Despite the fact I'm a Chartered Engineer with a degree in Electrical Engineering I read that I'm supposed to have part p certification to reqwire it myself.

I deal with 415V wiring day to day in my career so probably wouldn't need to be taught the material, are there reference books available?

Thanks for any advice.

On site guide.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/IEE--site-G...8546/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1295598871&sr=8-1

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Book/1.1.htm

Part P is a bit of a joke in terms of notification, you can notify via local building control and pay for the priveledge if you really want to.

Good online guide to the old regs here:

Hello

Thanks for any advice.

This type of work requred Building Control approval - this can be acheived by an electrician who belongs to one of the competent persons scheme or and individual.

There is no such thing as a Part P certificate or examination.
The key thing is an understanding of BS7671, Guidance Notes 3 on Inspection and testing and the Building Regulations. In other words be able to design, install, inspect and test the circuits while complying with all elements of the Building Regulations - it is not just Part P you have to comply with.