Patching around sockets

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

patching some largish holes around sockets, measuring upto 14" x 7". The walls are concrete block and I was thinking of PVA'ing, bonding then easy-fill.

Would the perimeter of the holes need to taped prior to the use of easy-fill?

I'm a complete novice when it comes to plastering. Will this be easier to get a flat / decent finish that's level with the surrounding skim, instead of using batten / plasterboard then using easy-fill.

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
Thank's for the reply.

For a novice, would you advise the bonding method? My concerns are about feathering and I have the impression, I could be wrong, it may be more difficult to get a smooth finish using plasterboard and having to tape etc.

Would Easy-fill be the way to go for the finish coat?

View attachment 88199 Thank's for your reply.

For a novice, would you advise the bonding method? I have the impression, I could be wrong, that it may be more difficult to feather if using plasterboard and tape, etc.

Would Easy-fill be the way to go for the finish?

I've 6 sockets to make good. Some need less patching than the photo. I had someone look at it on Friday and he said that the whole kitchen would need to be replastered.

4 - Copy.JPG

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
I've 6 sockets to make good. Some need less patching than the photo. I had someone look at it on Friday and he said that the whole kitchen would need to be replastered.

After you've patched around the sockets with Bonding, for a pro it may actually be easier and neater to re skim the whole wall.
If you're doing it yourself and not skimmed before - either pay a pro or blend in easy fill over the Bonding.

After you've patched around the sockets with Bonding, for a pro it may actually be easier and neater to re skim the whole wall.
If you're doing it yourself and not skimmed before - either pay a pro or blend in easy fill over the Bonding.