PLASTERBOARD JOINTS - USING A FLEXIBLE SEALANT??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi - I've got zero plastering experience (including plasterboard) but I'm hoping to cover a small ceiling (about 9' x 9') with plasterboard and then papering over with a woodchip type paper. If I fix the board with plasterboard screws, is it likely I can fill joints with a flexible sealant? Or is it just impossible to get the horizontal surfaces of two adjacent boards flush with each other? Using joint filler and spreading it several inches either side of joints and feathering out etc. seems a skill in itself and I'm worried about making a dog's breakfast of it. Also, what's the procedure with any gaps around the perimeter - just simply fill with filler only? I'm hoping the woodchip paper will hide most imperfections.
My apologies if this query offends skilled plasterers!!
Regards.

Sponsored Links
Fix the boards lengthways across the joists, stagger the joints and keep them tight together, keep the boards hard against the wall,screw the boards every 100mm, use plasterers scrim tape for all joints in boards and apply 2 or 3 coats of easi-fill. fill any discrepancies in the perimeter with decorators caulk.
Spend a bit of time on the sanding and you may get away with just painting it. ;)

Good luck.

Thanks for your quick reply and advice. So it looks like there's no ducking out of scrim tape and filler at joints, but at least caulk around perimeter. Advice I've seen elsewhere suggests 3 layers of filler, progressively wider and feathering the edges (which is probably easier to say than do!). I know scrim is about 2" wide - does it presumably lap beyond the joint each side??
Regards.

I'm hoping the woodchip paper will hide most imperfections.
My apologies if this query offends skilled plasterers!!
Regards.

Personally would prefer for the more elegant solution of a skimmed ceiling (may not cost that much even if you paid someone as it's only small).