Plasterboard onto bare wall???

k4p

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all!

This is my first post....i'm a total DIY novice so take it easy.

Ok.....i am getting some work done to a wall. The current state of the wall: it is exposed down to the bare bricks. My plasterer plans to use adhesive to stick plasterboard onto the wall. He will then plaster over the top.

Is this the best approach???

Previously the wall was covered by some sort of cement mix which had then been plastered. This seemed to give a much more solid finish...should this be done again?

Sponsored Links
time and mess are factors here, ideally your spread should have offered you either option, dot and dab is quicker and less messy but not the most durable finish, render and skim is a much more durable hard wearing finish but requires MUCH greater skill to execute!

more time = more cost

This doesnt mean that he should have offered either option to the homeowner.

If you dont mind D&D, like the fella, get on with him, pleased with his standard of work and happy with the price then there is no problem :)

Sponsored Links
Is this the best approach???
It's a suitable method to use, whether it is the best approach it is hard to say.
Cost and time constraints are a factor.
Once the boards are up and plaster is finished, you wont visually know any different.

What room is the wall in?