Plastic guttering straight to brick

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
99DAB47C-415D-49BA-B80F-F927596098BE.jpeg
366F5FD2-56CB-4507-A72B-80A6835B52DB.jpeg

Hi all, little help needed here, I’m a complete beginner, so take it easy on me lol. I want to know if I can put plastic guttering straight to the brickwork, the toilet window opens but lowers down as it does, I’ve looked at the spike guttering but the walls are only one brick thick so would poke inside. The reason I need this is the whole of the garden is slabbed and when it rains it causes damp due to really clay soil. Was thinking of guttering to a water butt then hose down to the bottom of the garden, filling in the trench with pea gravel covered by the cloth stuff you can get. Would all this be possible? Cheers in advance for the help.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
It’s a concrete roof sloping down right to left, that falls to a slabbed garden and causes damp inside toilet.

Hold a clip on the wall to see where the gutter would be - you really want the roof to drip into the middle of the gutter. If you have room, it would be better to screw lenghs of wooden battons or boards to the wall then mount the gutter on the wood. Get pressure treated if you can. This way you canmount the gutter clips where you want and maybe adjust them later without having to drill the wall many times.

Sponsored Links
Thanks, as it is the roof overhangs the wall and when I held the guttering up it would drip into the centre of the guttering. I was just not sure about if it could be put straight into the wall as every picture I’ve seen has it put on a fascia type board.

Nothing to stop you putting the gutter brackets directly onto the brickwork but you'll have to be exactly spot on with the fall....brackets aren't adjustable, hence dal5bands advice regarding the timber batten - even a 18mm thick piece would do.