Plot of Land - No PP - Viable?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

I am totally new to building/plots of land/planning permission etc.

I have seen a plot of land advertised with a 'workshop' on it and I am wondering if it's suitable to build a house on top of.

It is 19x36 feet in size (684 Square Feet). It has access to the road. It is situated in a residential area. I'd aim to build a 1 bedroom property with 2 floors. Kitchen/Living space downstairs, and double bedroom and bathroom upstairs.

I have the following questions:

1. Is it unusual for people to sell plots of land without planning permission, that are good candidates to be granted it? This plot is small, so maybe they just assumed it isn't viable, or maybe it is actually the case they tried to get PP but failed. Is there a way to check to see if anyone has ever tried to get PP for a specific plot in the past?

2. Can you build to the full extremities of the plot, or are there rules saying you have to leave a certain sized gap between house and fences? I understand the builders will likely need some space to work - so maybe I'd need to leave some room for that?