POTTERTON ENVOY F CODE / NOT IGINITING THOUGHTS PLEASE

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I serviced a friends Potterton Envoy about a month ago and he is now reporting that it keeps locking out "F" code.
Im due to go back to take a look but could do with a few opinions as im new to Gas work. (First year)
The main suggestion i have had so far is check that the igniter is not wet. The first complaint was that it did not come on first thing in the morning, then after a restart it worked. However now im led to believe it is more often, which i think is coinciding with the bad rain fall.
My thoughts are that it is rain coming in through the flue however i would appreciate advise if anyone has any.

Regards Neil

Sponsored Links
The normal fault for this code is the the hot surface ignitor is dead. CORGI job I reckon

:)

I am corgi registered so fitting is no problem, would this fault be intermitent if the igniter was dead?
Is there a possibilty the igniter could be on its last legs or is this unlikely

Must say that I have not seen that is gone and comes back on again

if your are an RGI why dont you post this in the combustion chamber forum?

during ignition can you see a glow in the sight glass?

as for water going down the flue during the rain, well its a condensing boiler and has water going down the flue all the time so that wont kill it

could be a block condensate trap, when this happens on these heaps it floods around the fan

Sponsored Links
I wasnt aware of the combustion chamber forum is it part of this forum or another site?

I am going to check 2moro although during the service everything seemed ok. (ignition ok etc..)

I really just needed some starting points so thanks again.

What do you mean "these are sods?" Do you mean the Envoy? I have a few BG friends who i did my training with they also said these are a nightmare.

It makes no difference if trap blocks as all the condensate leaks fropm the poxy seals ! ;)