Potterton flowsure

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a service engineer who works only on oil fired boilers. I got a call to a new customer last week who has a potterton flowsure combi which was stinking of oil. I went out to it and replaced a leaking flexible fuel pipe, gave the burner (RDB) a service and put some air into the Exp vessel whilst there and left it at that.

A couple of days later the customer rang to say the hot water wasn't working so I went back to investigate. At this point I will say I've been doing this job for about 20 years, have around 800 regular customers... but none of them have a Flowsure so I've never worked on one before and have no technical books or manual to refer to ....Also I hadn't tested the water while I was there originally as I had been called out to an oil leak.

When I arrived I found that the boiler wouldn't turn on when a tap was used so I removed the flow switch to check it. Once out of the boiler I could operate the switch and the boiler fired up straight away and after putting it back found the boiler would now also fire when a tap was used. SoI assumed the switch was stuck for some reason but was now OK and left it at that, telling the customer that if it did it again I would get a new switch and replace it.

A few days later it did do it again so I returned with a new switch to fit however this time the flow switch wouldn't turn the boiler on either and when I checked it for continuity it was definitely working so didn't fit the new one.

The boiler was hot and I could hear a circulating pump running which would only turn off if I switched off at the mains, the on/off switch and timer switch on the boiler had no effect. Also at one point the burner also fired up for a few minutes and would not turn off using the control stat??