Power cuts & Generators.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys

like many others i experienced power cuts over the last week. It is quite difficult for us because my wife is in a wheelchair and gets cold real quick. So the thought of buying a portable generator to run a few lights and heating devices sprung to mind.

The easiest way (I assume) is to buy a small 2kw generator. Stick it outside and run an extension lead into the house to run a fan heater and a bedside lamp until the power comes back on.

However the ideal situation would be to find someway to run a household light and the fuel oil central heating boiler. But how practical and expensive would this be? I am not worried about fridges or anything else really. Just a bit of heat and light.

So how much for a small 2 bedroom bungalow backup power?

Any help/suggestions would be appreciated. Treat me like a complete novice and you wont be far off :)

P.s I have looked at previous posts but they did not help much.

Sponsored Links
There are a number of ways to use a generator but to use one to directly heat is not really going to help much. The calor gas heaters would work far better.

However to keep light and heat going does not require a generator. One can buy an UPS that is an interrupable power supply which could maintain the supply to a central heating boiler but the question is for how long.

Lights are easy I have emergency lights which as standard work for 3 hours but to increase that time is not really a problem.

Generators make noise and also require some one to start them and put them on line. Where with battery backup it can be automatic.

My son had a boat and could run central heating from a battery for about 5 days without starting the generator with 330 AH of batteries but normally one would not have such a big bank.

However if you use 12v then one can always use the car to charge them.