Premier Elite 24 PSU Fault

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys

Fitted 1/2 a dozen alarms over the years, maintance technician by trade so know the basics.

Had this panel installed about 6 months and today had a Mains off, PS Failure, Power O/P fault. Power is still applied to PSU and panel. Molex measures around 20v when checked across the red terminal and other three once disconnected

So my question is, is this voltage ok when not under load? Is the fault likely to be the board or the PSU.

Wintex does not show over voltage or a PSU battery fault or a PSU mains fault.

Battery is powering system at 12.5 v and shows System Current at between 0 and 0.4A

Firmware is 5.01.03

Any help or advice much appreciated.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
? From the psu output what voltage do you get from the red and black wires ? It will show psu fault and o/p fault when the power is off ...

Hi Sparky
Thanks for the fast reply!
I get between 18.0 to 20.5v fluctuating.

Many Thanks

Sponsored Links
Thanks secure, are you saying a replacement panel or PSU?

Many Thanks

What’s coming off the battery leads , what multimeter are you using ? Are the leads good or battery good in it ....if it was overcharging I would guess the voltage would be constant ! Check your meter on the battery disconnected to prove a point ...

Hi Sparky

TIS meter, battery reads a steady 12.5 v. Leads to battery is 0v.

Leads snd battery good.

Cheers

Doesn’t read correct to me ...if that psu was inputting 18-20v I would probably be seeing that at the battery leads , aux volts and bell supply , nominal 13.80v ish , and you should be getting around that at the battery disconnected !

Hi Sparky

Agreed its strange, just checked the voltage with plug connected to board and get the following.
Red to black 12 to 13.7v
Red to blue 10.6 to 12.4v
Red to yellow 12 to 13.7v
With battery connected.

Battery dissconnected
Only get around 2 v on all terminals.
And 0v on battery terminals