Problem with part P

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Let me start by saying that I agree with part P in principle, and I totally agree with the need for T & I to prove safety.
Now the main post. For the past 30 years I have had my own audio visual hire business and this included supplying temporary electrical installations both outdoors and in marquees where large numbers of general public were present. These are probably the most dangerous of installations. Allthough I am not formally trained as an electrician I do know about 16th edition, testing etc and before retirement was approved by many councils and stately home owners and government organisations for temporary electrical installation. Every circuit had MCB and RCD protection and all testing carried out. I, nor any member of the public or clients have never had even the slightest shock and every thing has always been passed by fire officers. Now this is my point, whilst I do not envisage doing domestic work for others, Part P prevents me from adding an extra socket in my own kitchen without it being inspected by a council man who probably knows less than me. I think there should be a facility in the Part P system that allows people like me with years of proven experience to carry out minor work in our own property. Just a final point, any equipment which I supplied on hire was PAT tested prior to every hire, On at least two occasions where members of the public attended the council inspector came to check my work, I produced a computer printout of the test results and they said they had never seen this before. So much for competence.

Sponsored Links
Computerised PAT test records? I think most of the more upmarket PAT testers do that now, certainly the Megger PAT 4 I have holds a fair amount of records downloadable via the serial port.
The important part is records are being kept, regardless of wether or not they are hand written or computerised.