Pumped or Gravity CH system?

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
Hi, I've just found your forum so this is my first question. I have read the other posts on this topic but as I live out in the Irish countryside and most of the other Q's seem to come from UK residents, I thought I'd double check to be sure - hope you don't mind! I want to buy a new CH/HW programmer and need to make sure I get the right one for my system (I am not experienced in plumbing,electrical work or DIY-ing - apart from decorating - in any way,shape or form!!)
Our water supply comes from a private well in our garden - we're not connected to the mains water. Our HW cylinder is in the airing cupboard (we live in a bungalow). There is a cold water tank in the loft which I presume, feeds the cylinder, which then (also presumed) heats the water. There don't seem to be any signs of a pump near the cylinder although there is a square box type item entitled MYSON POWER EXTRA and this is connected to the cylinder.
Does this mean my system is of the gravity type? Thanks for your help.

Sponsored Links
Myson power extra is a motorised valve. There must be a heat source to heat the water in the cylinder and the rads. A picture or 2 would assist in to ID your system type. How many tanks in the loft?

Hi Muggles and thanks for replying so quickly. We have a Firebird Oil fired boiler, which is situated outside of the house. Unfortunately there's no model number on it (or if there was, it's rubbed off!). Does that help?

Sponsored Links
can you put your heating on alone without the hot water coming on as well? that's a sure sign of a gravity system.

how many pipes come off the boiler? 4 would suggest gravity.

but as above, pictures would help.

014.JPG
015.JPG
016.JPG