Puzzled.. Wiring a touch light from old switch

SMF

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Puzzled.. I am trying to replace an old 2 gang 1 way switch (see below how is wired) to a new 2 gang 1 way touch light switch (2nd picture), however I'm confused by the wires. Although a total novice, Im guessing the one were there is 2 res wres attached, is power and is being looped over to switch 2 to give that power, but I'm unsure what the solo red wire and yellow wire are. Can anyone please advise, any help is really appreciated.

socket.jpg

switch.jpg

Sponsored Links
I didnt see an earth although is an old house, however I can have a look in morning to see if there is an earth inside socket, I believe the new socket wouldnt need the earth. Would you know what wires, ie yellow wire is that in L and then unsure which red etc in L1 etc if that makes sense.

L2 and L1 on new switch are for the two switched lives ,yellow ,and red as explained above. The other reds go together in L.

• Thanks
Reactions: SMF
Sponsored Links
Right that makes sense.

So yellow into L1, The Solo Red if L2 and the 2 wires that are connected by the loop into L.

I just couldnt also understand why there is a loop connecting the other 2 reds. Thank you so much for your help, I really appreciate it.

One red is live feed in ,the other live feed out to next accessory. The bridge wire just links the two and provides live feed to second gang.

• Thanks
got you, once again thank you so much for your help and advice.

You should check other metal switchplates in the property to ensure they are earthed.

• Thanks
Thanks Terry, I have just checked the switch and can see that the back plate is earthed, is this ok? I have also checked quickly another switch in the dining room and that metal switch is earthed, is this normal that can be the back plate or metal plate? I also believe that only metal switches need to be earthed, is this correct?