qualifications

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi would like a bit of info if poss.I have served as a electricians labourer for 3 years and as an electricians apprentice for 1 but recently laid of from my company i have been asked by some people where i live to do some work on there houses what qualifications do i need to self certify my work as at the minute i have none and am unsure what path to take any help much appreciated thx

Sponsored Links
Look to study the 17th Edition City and Guilds -You'll need a regs book and onsite guide for starters too.

Some work can be done without any qualifications "like for like" changes but some work needs certification via being in a Part P registered scheme or via the local borough council for a fee

I am not an electrician

if you qualify as a "Domestic Installer" this is a simpler level (electricians look down on it) which you may find is sufficient for the sort of work you do. there are some short courses available, if you are unemployed you might even get on one free. with your previous experience you should find a lot of it familiar. this will enable you to to earn a living and comply with the law fairly quickly.

Nothing to stop you going on to increase your knowledge and qualifications later.

I have about £1000 to spend on courses but have no qualifications feel i have enough experience but i am confused on where to begin

Sponsored Links
Take a look at the NICEIC website, it tells you on there what qualifications you need to have to join their domestic installer scheme.
Also have a talk with your local college, they will be able to tell you what courses are on offer. Which part of Cumbria are you from?

£1K will be plenty to do the EAL Domestic Installer NVQ & 2381 at a college. Don't throw your money away on a private training company.

as bas said dont waste money on private training
the eal domestic installer 12 weeks £285 with cconsesions
£90 2382-10 a bit more but not much this will depend