1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Question: Cooker hood power supply location

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by missgravergaard, 5 Sep 2011.

  1. missgravergaard

    missgravergaard

    Joined:
    5 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all

    I am having a cooker hood fitted and need the power supply fitted first, but i would like to know if it would be ok to have the socket/spur unit onside the chimney/flue so it is hidden? it is one of those circulating cooker hoods with a filter in so the flue is only decorative as the filter is just on top of the triangular bit and the metal box up the wall is just empty.

    The reason is that i feel i have plenty of switches in the kitchen already and would like to be able to hide some.

    Not sure that is very well explained but as you can probably guess this is not an area i am familiar with so any advice will be very welcome.

    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. holmslaw

    holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ..
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,796
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do not put it inside the hood/chimney/.

    A common reason for the fuse blowing in an FCU if an extractor fan is the lamp blowing. Do you really want to disassemble the cooker hood each time a bulb goes?
     
  5. Click4

    Click4

    Joined:
    5 May 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In our kitchen, it has a socket behind the chimney/cover so its all hidden for the extractor hood to plug into, a socket because the extractor came with a moulded plug.

    then that feeds into an FCU isolator above the worktop next to the kitchen socket.

    So it can quickly and easily be isolated, and is accessible for fuse changes.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. riveralt

    riveralt

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,020
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nothing wrong with the FCU being placed inside a cupboard as long as it is accessible - alternatively incorporate it into a grid switch/fuse - looks a lot neater.
     
  8. holmslaw

    holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. Click4

    Click4

    Joined:
    5 May 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dont think inside a cuboard is classed as easily accessible?

    because putting an isolator inside a cuboard means its at risk of being obstructed.. and if you have to pull out half the cuboard to get to it in an emergency? not really practical.

    also, if it requires maintenance its a little inaccessible to work on.
     
  10. holmslaw

    holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page