Quoting software

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Does anyone know of or use any software to help speed up and make it easier to quote on large jobs?

Sponsored Links
tommyl18, Hi.

For my sins I work in the Insurance sector, I have worked for and still work for "various" insurers, or Loss Adjusters.

All insurers have a "preferred" cost build up Software package, some good some less so, some have been compiled by the insurer some are so called "Off the Shelf"

There is a trend towards a package called Xactimate, it is I think an American pack BUT it is totally converted to British costs that are updated on a frequent basis, even reflecting local variations, such as South of England. London. Wales. Scotland.

This package appears to be gaining a lot of users within the very "Cut Throat" market that is insurance and the builders that are working for insurers have to use this package.

I have no idea as to what it costs to buy into and then keep it upgraded to reflect current costs, sorry about that I am only an end user, whoever I am working for pays the Licence fee.

this package allows a room by room cost build up for all trades. there is also a Drawing function that allows you to [with deadly accuracy] draw a plan and individual wall elevations of the room that combine to give a complete visual image of a house both internally and out.

I have seen on various [insurance] web sites training in the use of this package to attain accreditation in its use

There is a possibility that the package could be "tailored" to provide the "bits" of the package you need, namely the costing section only.

I suppose if you Google building coGoogleld up software there will be a lot of Information.

Bottom line is that there appears to be a lot if use of Xactimate? if several "hard nosed" insurers and Loss Adjusters are using it can not be that bad, but may be expensive?

ken