Raised Pond Wall ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, i'm aiming to install a pre-formed 4mx6m pond with approx 1meter gap from pond edge to wall backfilled with soil for planting purposes,there will be small children present so i'm aiming to raise it so its approx 4ft high. I have looked at a few possible wall options and i have discounted sleepers for a breeze block wall with decking attached at a later date to disguise the wall. Will i need to double up on this wall as i don't want it to collapse under the pressure or will the single run of blocks be sufficient. Any ideas welcome as i'm a novice to this area of diy and wish to tackle the project fully armed.

Sponsored Links
4ft sounds a little high to me. Don't forget you will have to regularly get to the pond to remove algae, blanket weed, dead material including fish and to plant and introduce new stock. You will also regualrly need to clean the pump filters. If you do go for a wall this high, then high density concrete blocks should be ok, especially if you get the hollow type as they can be filled with concrete to give them an extra bond. My last pond was raised to 2'6in and the depth of the pond was 4ft.

If you have children that young that you need a 4ft high wall then I would reconsider having a pond at all.

As nstreet says, hollow blocks filled wiyh concrete are the strongest, built my 5ft deep koi pond this way but you could use 100mm dence concrete blocks laid flat like bricks as the bigger ones get a bit heavy.

4mx6m is quite a big pre-formed pond, Whats the depth and what you going to put in it?

Here's a few pics of my pond under construction

Jason

Cheers for that, your pond looks rather cool,