Rated People

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I was just browsing the Ratedpeople.com site (as you do) and something caught my eye in the diy guides electric section.

http://www.ratedpeople.com/c/advice/diy-guides/guides-electrics

Now I'm no electrician, but aren't they giving somewhat misleading advice? For example, under "adding a power socket" they say:

"8. Make sure each wire is connected to the corresponding terminal. The black wire connects to the neutral terminal; the red wire connects to the live terminal, and the blue wire to the ground terminal"

and under "replacing a plug":

"7. Once the insulation is removed, you should see the three different colours of wires: red, brown or yellow/green and blue. The different coloured wires represent the three types of wire: earth, live and neutral"

As for replacing a light switch....

http://www.ratedpeople.com/c/advice...s-electrics-lighting/replacing-a-light-switch

Is it me, or are they are a tad confused?

Sponsored Links
Well, when they say things like this:

"Projects dealing with electricity should not be undertaken by anyone who is not qualified to Part P regulation standards, the government standards covering electrical safety."

I think it's clear that they don't really know much about the subject.

This:

http://www.ratedpeople.com/c/advice/trade-insights/insights-electrics/part-p-building-regulation

contains so many errors it's a joke. I especially like the bit about having to use a "part P qualified electrician" to carry out EICRs and PAT testing!

Last edited:
Most of it has probably been copied from somewhere else and amended by someone who had no knowledge of the subject.

The light switch section is more applicable to USA type switches where the cover plate is a separate piece and the wires are wrapped around screw terminals.

No idea where they get blue as earth, although they call it 'ground' which supports it being copied from some USA website, yet the USA does not use blue as ground.