Rayburn 480K query

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys. I’m wondering if some of you experienced oil men can take the time to answer my query. Before I dive into that I am familiar with PJ burners and understand them, their sequences, wiring etc etc but I have no experience with the twin PJ cookers.
My query is can someone please explain to me the start up sequence for a 480K. I know some twin burners have 3 solenoids and some have 5. What is the reason for say two solenoids on cooker feed, two on boiler and the fifth? Are some NO or are they all NC? Also what is the purpose of the soft start?
The reason I ask is I’m on another forum and a home owner has asked for advice as to why his boiler burner is failing to light. Now like I said I have no experience with these things, I’m certainly not going to attempt to advise on or even try to fix but it has got my inquisitive mind thinking and I’d really like to just get a better understanding of these units.
PS. I know many people loathe these particular cookers but I’m curious.
Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
Take cover......:eek:
I've had some experience with a 499K and it leaves its mark to this day......I can't recall too much about it thankfully but this one had two Nu Way burners, both fed by one Danfoss oil pump. It may give you some clues regarding the 480.
The soft start is to give the appliance some 'warm up time' so that the boiler internals are prevented from cracking. The oil pump provides pressure at around 100 psi, the unit lights (occasionally :mrgreen:) and runs for about a minute and then switches onto its running pressure of 140 psi or whatever its meant to be.
This is the purpose of all of those solenoids - they (I believe) allow oil to be fed back to the pump during the soft start.