rcd question?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i am an self employed electrician and have a quick question im stumped on...i've just changed an old re-wireable fuse board for a new wylex split load duel rcd consumer unit, and whilst working on the new installation found that after i isolated the circuit wich im working on, when i cut through a piece of 2.5 mm twin wich was spurred off the ring main, the rcd DIDNT trip, i know that an rcd usually trips wether there is a load on the circuit or not when a nuetral to earth fault occurs. so i bridged the cable nuetral to earth (still isolated of course) and it still didnt trip. any one shed some light on this please i think that maybe because its an tnc-s system where the earth and nuetral are combined by PME and that there was no load on said circuit that that is why it didnt trip ??? and is this the case for any other earthing system ie tn-s tt etc :rolleyes:

Sponsored Links
Yes, is owing to it being TN-CS. If there is no potential between N and E then no current can flow via the N-E short.
TT and TN-S are a little bit more complicated, I'd be suprised if an RCD didn't trip with TN-S as any voltages on the distribution network neutral and earth conductors will cause a potential difference.
TT depends on the potential of the neutral conductor above true earth and the resistance of the fault path back to the transormer - if it doesn't trip the RCD it can play havoc when conducting an RCD test as what you would have is a pretend TN-CS link downstream of the RCD.

:rolleyes: of course the RCD should trip in a PME ( TN-C-S ) system..

the neutral runs through the rcd, the earth doesn't..
any current going out of the RCD must ballance with the current coming back..
any neutral - earth fault bypasses the rcd on the way back so it's got more current going out than coming back so it will trip...

if it's an RCD for one circuit only and there is no load, then there is no current so can be no imballance...