Re-Using Existing uPVC Windows Elsewhere?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

How easy is it to remove existing uPVC Windows (say up to 6' by 4' ones) and re-use them elsewhere? It'd guess they're 20+ years old, and I accept that more modern one's might be slightly more thermally efficient, and secure?

I'm having a rear extension + house mods that require the removal of two largish windows, and I'd be perfectly happy for them to be re-used in the new extension.
Would this be a genuine cost-saving, or is it actually more hassle/risky for a builder to have to carefully remove them, and then install previously-used windows?

Primarily I'm trying to save costs, but I also have a preference to re-use wherever possible.

Thanks for any advice.

Sponsored Links
I’m not an expert by any means but I would think a few screws and cut some mastic away and they should come out. Not sure, but they might not comply with the latest building regs. If I’m wrong, I’m sure I’ll be told pretty quickly!

Your building inspector probably won't let you reuse them in the new extension as they probably won't conform to current building regs regarding energy efficiency.

Getting them out in one piece will depend on whether they are strapped in or screwed in. It is 50/50 chance that you will even get them out without damaging them, as screws rust straps are a pain and pvc gets brittle

In theory you cant reuse them because all new windows have to be tested to show compliance with part L.

If the double glazing is original it predates part L requirements for low e glass, so you could change the units. Whether the BCO will accept that is the question.

Upvc can be taken out reasonably easily - the screws may have rusted, thats all -a hacksaw blade or recip would get them

Sponsored Links