Re-wiring a house - Local authority involvement

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I am not a qualified electrician/registered to any scheme. Over the years I have re-wired several houses and had different local authorities inspect first fix, test after completion and issue a completion certificate.

The house I am about to start a re-furbishment and re-wire the local authority say that if I am not registered to Part P, I have to have studied for exams and have some form of qualification if I am to re-wire a house. I have explained that I have re-wired other houses in other boroughs. The question I have is - What they are saying, is this correct?

Normally I use an electrician to discuss the re-wire, the circuits etc and then do the first fix, he comes and looks at my work before I contact the local authority to inspect the first fix. In the past the local authorities come and inspect themselves or sub contract to an electrician.

Sponsored Links
I think that they are questiong whether or not you are a "competant person" & asking for qualifcations as proof, but I do not think they are entitled to do that & I would speak to the head of building control if I were you. Under part p they are obliged to test & inspect your work as long as you pay their fees & I don't think they can question your competance unless they have evidence to the contrary.

There's no requirement for a non-registered installer using the notification route to demonstrate they are a competent person. Neither the formal definition - i.e. being a member of a Part P competent person scheme; nor a casual definition - i.e. just being 'up to the job'. The latter will be determined in the inspections and testing.